In the 15th century, both France and England stake a blood claim for the French throne. Believing that God had chosen her, the young Joan leads the army of the King of France. When she is captured, the Church sends her for trial on charges of heresy. Refusing to accept the accusations, the graceful Joan of Arc will stay true to her mission.

Bruno Dumont’s decision to work with a ten-year-old actress re-injects this heroine’s timeless cause and ideology with a modernity that highlights both the tragic female condition and the incredible fervor, strength and freedom women show when shackled by societies and archaic virile orders that belittle and alienate them.

Original title: Jeanne English title: Joan of Arc Country: France Language: French Production year: 2019 Duration: 138 minutes


120x160 Joan 25-04 Inter HD.jpg


Lise Leplat Prudhomme


Director: Bruno Dumont Screenwriter: Bruno Dumont Production Company: 3B productions World sales: Luxbox

Bruno dumont


Bruno Dumont is a French film director. To date, he has directed several feature films, all of which border somewhere between realistic drama and the avant-garde. His first feature film La vie de Jésus was selected at Directors' Fortnight. His films have won several awards at the Cannes films Festival.  Two of Dumont's films have won the Grand Prix award: both L'Humanité (1999) and Flandres (2006).  The only other director who has twice won the Cannes Grand Prix is Andrei Tarkovsky. Dumont's Hadewijch won the 2009 Prize of the International Critics (FIPRESCI Prize) for Special Presentation at the Toronto Film Festival. In 2016, Slack Bay, starring Juliette Binoche and Fabrice Luchini, was presented in Competition at the Cannes International Film Festival. The year after, Jeannette, a musical adaptation of Charles Péguy’s writings about Joan of Arc, is selected in Cannes’ Directors Fortnight.



2019, Joan of Arc

2018, Coincoin and the Extra-Humans

2017, Jeannette

2016, Slack Bay

2014, Lil’Quinquin

2013, Camille Claudel 1915

2011, Hors Satan/Outside Satan

2009, Hadewijch

2006, Flandres

2003, Twentynine Palms

1999, Humanity

1997, The Life of Jesus

Capture d’écran 2019-05-06 à 16.56.10.png